Tags

, , , ,

As you probably know, the manuscript you submit to an agent or publisher must be typed up and not hand written. Your cursive might be perfect but it’s just too impractical to have to peer through the only copy of a manuscript, in an unfamiliar font. But as long as the final product follows all the guidelines, you are free to produce it how you want initially.

I know a couple of people who still swear by typewriters (although I must admit that one of them is my grandmother and the other is a die-hard hipster). Personally, I really enjoy writing with a nice fountain pen. Producing real ink on the page is strangely comforting to me and I also find that, as I am forced to slow down, my ideas often come out more fully-formed too. That’s not always the case; sometimes slow writing is the bane of my existence. But unless I’m on a real roll, I find there are some benefits to going at an easy pace. However, if you are choosing to write by hand, I very strongly recommend that you type up the day’s work at the end of your session. Hand written pages can be beautiful, but they are more easily lost or destroyed than a digital back-up (or five).

That familiar tapping noise floats from the door to Starbucks every lunch time. -Image by Tim Hamilton

That familiar tapping noise floats from the door to Starbucks every lunch time.
-Image by Tim Hamilton

What is your position on writing mediums? Do you strictly stick to good-old Microsoft Word, or do you have a more unusual method?

P.S. This post was scheduled in advance as I am currently sunning myself on a much-needed holiday! Please excuse any delay in responding to comments. I will read them when I find a free wifi zone, honest!

