Tags

,

I’m sure you have all heard of the old advice, “Write what you Know”, but have you ever considered what would happen if you broke this rule? Personally, I love the idea of diving into something unknown with my writing but I’m not about to suggest that we all go ahead and produce novels based on tribal life in Papua New Guinea (unless you just so happened to be an expert on that topic).

But I do think there is one important distinction to be made here. In my view, “write what you know”, doesn’t mean “write what you have always known”. An expert knowledge on a topic will almost always contribute to the quality of your writing, but even an expert has to start somewhere.

So, the next time you refuse to write about something because you know too little about it, as yourself if you could learn! Don’t refuse yourself the opportunity to explore new ground!

