Tags

, ,

This is something that I may go into more at a later time but I just wanted to briefly share my thoughts on writing about controversial topics. I work for a major multi-national corporation as a day job, so the HR department have really put the fear of God in me about saying or doing anything that could be construed as offensive. I think maybe this has started to impact my writing a little lately as I always have to give it very careful thought before I venture into a subject that my readers might be uncomfortable with. This could be a positive thing in some respects as I mainly enjoy writing YA and, naturally, there will be certain no-go themes for this demographic. However, I think I would like to take more risks with my writing.

I know a few people so sensitive, they would be offended by a dictionary. Image by David Goehring

I know a few people so sensitive, they would be offended by a dictionary.
Image by David Goehring

Back in university, I had no problem with writing something I could never show to my grandmother, but maybe that was just because I was encouraged to explore topics like that. I think a writer’s environment will have a huge impact on the style of their work and I suppose my recent environment has just been one of over-sensitivity. I’d like to think of a way to overcome that.

Where do you stand on this? Are you comfortable with writing controversy or do you shy away?

