Tags

, , ,

I’m a terrible judge of age, especially when it comes to kids and teenagers. I’m so bad at guessing that it’s almost impressive. But when we write teenage characters, getting their behavior to match their age is an incredibly important skill. Just one year can make

I still have a box of 80s style pony toys from my childhood. I used to scour jumble sales for them. -Image by Hina Ichigo

I still have a box of 80s style pony toys from my childhood. I used to scour jumble sales for them.
-Image by Hina Ichigo

a massive difference in their values and opinions; particularly for tweens as just a few months can turn them from a pony-loving princess to a boy-band enthusiast.

It occurs to me that the best way to stay true to your characters age is to nail down some defining traits, values and opinions which are common in their peers. For example. 14 is generally the age I think of teenagers really hitting the rebellion phase. 16 is the age when I think of them starting to seek adult responsibilities. But my opinion is probably not the most accurate as I only have my own memoriesĀ to go on. So, I wanted to ask you all what you think are the defining features of various age-groups. What do you think?

