Tags

, , ,

A few weeks ago, I wrote on the importance of careful character naming and that got me thinking about some of my favourite names from literary history.

There’s a handful of authors out there who have this part of their writing down to a fine art and that comes across most clearly in genres like sci-fi and fantasy where the names are often very obviously made up and are therefore unique to the character. I have to say, I’m a particular fan of “Zaphod Beeblebrox“. In fact, I think Douglas Adams should have gone into the baby-naming business. It would have made the world a far more interesting place.

Ah, the Pan-Galactic-Gargle-Blaster. I would have given a month's pocket money to try one when I was a kid.

Ah, the Pan-Galactic-Gargle-Blaster. I would have given a month’s pocket money to try one when I was a kid.

But with Trillians and Slartibartfasts flying around,  it can be easy to forget how much skill it takes to come up with a fitting name for a character who lives in the real world. Dickens had a particular talent for this and I especially loved “Miss. Havisham” and, although I know it is the obvious choice, “Ebenezer Scrooge”.

What are your top picks for character names?

