Tags

, ,

I wrote a few weeks ago about how we use technology to aid our writing and, for the most part, I focused on the really big, essential things such as spell check and cloud back-ups. But that got me thinking about some of the newer tech like smartphone apps and how this sort of software might benefit us in the future.

There’s already a tonne of apps out there for writers – check out this quick list of 10 from the Huffington Post. You’ve got digital dictionaries, dictation and, my favourite, Write or Die, which punishes you for not meeting your writing goals.

Now all I need is a app that does the dishes and the hoovering. Then I'll never leave my desk again! Image by Jason Howie

Now all I need is a app that does the dishes and the hoovering. Then I’ll never leave my desk again!
Image by Jason Howie

If I were to create my own writing helper, it would have to be something that stops me from getting distracted. As much as I love writing, it only takes the slightest little sparkle from the corner of my eye to make me completely forget what I was supposed to be doing. So maybe there’s a program out there that could shut down any non-necessary internet, block all my emails and play white noise through my headphones so I don’t get distracted by whatever the interns are gossiping about on their lunch break.

If you could create the ultimate writing app, what kind of functions would yours have?

