Tags

, , , ,

While studying literary fiction at university, pretty much all of main-stream literature was considered a guilty pleasure. I remember on one occasion, one of my class-mates bought the lecturer a copy of Harry Potter as a joke, and he spent half of the lesson complaining about the thing and spitting insults at ‘the sort of person’ who would like it. He never did actually read it himself.

I think that’s no way to live your life. Sure, there are some books that I will (lovingly) tease my friends for reading, but I don’t actually think it’s in any way a bad thing to enjoy books that are trashy, poorly written or cliched. It can be fun. And when you find something that’s just hilariously bad, you walk away with the right to make fun of it if you actually gave it a chance in the first place. At least, that’s my rule.

Personally, my guilty pleasures are vampire books and shojou manga. I haven’t quite been able to bring myself to read Twilight yet, and I rarely take a manga out in public for fear of been labeled as a massive nerd, but after a hard day at work, there’s nothing that takes away my stress quicker.

Vampires and Shojou Manga at the same time. Bliss!

Vampires and Shojou Manga at the same time. Bliss!

OK, so that’s my confession over and done with. What are your guilty pleasures?

