Tags

, , , ,

I read a great article yesterday called “The Best Suggestion I Ever Got From My Editor” which, as you can probably guess, listed a bunch of interesting advice that authors had been given by editors. I found the first point particularly interesting. The author mentioned that they were suffering from the ‘second book curse’. They panicking that their first novel might have been a fluke and they would never write another good one. It was comforting to hear that others feel this way too! While I’m pitching my manuscript, I’ve been scribbling away at two new ones and driving myself crazy with worry that they might not be up to scratch. But reading this author’s perspective was very encouraging.

I think that the best advice I’ve ever been given was ‘write what others want to read’. It sounds kind of silly, but I think it’s really valuable. Sometimes we get so caught up in our own preferences that we don’t think about the market value of our work, which is really important if you want to be traditionally published. So now I think hard about my audience and what they want before I put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard).

What’s the best writing advice you’ve ever received?

