Tags

, ,

Over the weekend, I shared this article on my Twitter feed which argues that readers will follow a plot more easily when reading a physical paper book rather than an ebook. With digital content becoming all the more relevant, I’m sure there are strong arguments for both sides, but I’m not quite decided, myself.

On the one hand, I do think it is easier to look at a text in detail when you have it on paper – many authors swear by printing out their manuscripts before editing. But if I’m just sitting back to read a book for fun, I find little difference between physical and digital books. In fact, I would say that I probably do most of my reading on a screen of some sort, whether it is a news article or a full novel.

So, what do you think? Are we losing out by reading on a computer screen or an e-reader? Or do you think the benefits of digital media outweigh any loses?

